mandaringurl

July 21, 2009

Some fun with Engrish

Filed under: Uncategorized — ktetaichinh @ 5:21 pm

Some fun with Engrish

My Chinese is still very basic. I will be starting my Chinese studies this Monday at University. So the few words and sentences I’ve learnt so far have been through private study. Going to a restaurant or buying something at a shop is often embarrassing as I don’t know the Chinese words (and most people don’t know any English). Therefore, I just keep smiling and try to take it easy and with humor.

Anyway, I just stumbled across this page: www.engrish.com

It’s a blog with funny English translations of mostly Japanese and Chinese signs.

If you live in China, you probably can ignore this webpage, as you will see plenty of strange “translations” almost every day, but you might want to have a look at the most popular. Some of them are hilarious.

PS: Talking about English, for me this is also a second language. My first language is German. So please excuse any spelling mistakes in this blog.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

